Anointed

Anointed: simple past tense and past participle of anoint (to apply oil to or to pour oil upon, etc., as a sacred rite, especially for consecration).

Hey sunshine!  I’ll never take your pride

You’re what I need, you’ve been anointed

This is the highlight of your miserable life

A pessimist is never disappointed

(Theaudience, ‘A Pessimist Is Never Disappointed’)

Indie band theaudience (one word, no space) are best known today for being the launching-pad for the later solo success of their singer, Sophie Ellis-Bextor, but their second charting single also displayed a useful command of the rock dictionary.  (Or, if you will, the ‘rocktionary’).  With its knowing lyrics and the louche qualities of Ellis-Bextor’s vaguely disinterested delivery, this was one of the small gems of the late Britpop period, reaching number 27 in the UK charts in 1998.  Go on, have a listen – you’ve still gotta love that sky-high chorus, and as I’m sure the band quickly realised, it didn’t hurt to have a singer who looked as good as that.

2 Responses to “Anointed”

  1. Sophie Ellis-Bexter’s career was launched as a result of her mother presenting Blue Peter. I’m not certain her talent had much to do with it, even though, I fully admit, she has a distinctive voice

  2. Yeah, I remember the constant ribbing she got on Never Mind The Buzzcocks: incessant references to ‘sticky backed plastic’. And the NME, rather bitchily, made much of their observation that her face was somewhat rhomboid.

    I first heard ‘A Pessimist…’ on BBC GLR one morning in 1998 without knowing who she was, and I was impressed with the catchy tune and her delivery, so I was sold.

Leave a comment